How Uncomfortable Are You?

“The truth is that our finest moments are most likely to occur when we are feeling deeply uncomfortable, unhappy, or unfulfilled. For it is only in such moments, propelled by our discomfort, that we are likely to step out of our ruts and start searching for different ways or truer answers.” ~M. Scott Peck

We only change our life when we get so sick of the current version that we can’t stand it anymore. Or when something blows up. Or someone dies or gets cancer. Isn’t that sad? We have the power to change things but it usually takes a catastrophic event to do so.

It took me being $2.4 million in debt and almost losing my home to wake up. I kept hoping things would turn around…kind of like hoping Santa Claus will show up on Christmas Eve. It took me being 58 pounds overweight and huffing and puffing everywhere I went to wake up to get myself fit again. It took me downsizing 4 times before I realized renting might be the best option until things stabilized again.

I love adrenaline. I think adrenaline’s what got me into some of the messes I’ve been in in my life. But mostly the change agent was pain. Life felt too painful and when it’s too painful, we wake up.

If you’re uncomfortable with your life and your finances, I say good. Because pain is a mysterious transformer, an alchemist. (Definition of alchemy: a magical power or process of transforming a common substance, usually of little value, into a substance of great value.)

Often we don’t even know how we created the lives that we have. We simply know they’re not working. And that’s when it’s time to take charge and make change.

Let me know what changes you’re planning to make. I’m making plenty.

Leave a Reply

