Week 1: Let the Journey Begin at 207.4 Pounds


“The truth is that our finest moments are most likely to occur when we are feeling deeply uncomfortable, unhappy, or unfulfilled. For it is only in such moments, propelled by our discomfort, that we are likely to step out of our ruts and start searching for different ways or truer answers.” ~M. Scott Peck

Weight:207.4

There are doubts that I can do this but for the most part I am energized. I’ll record every bite I eat, every thing that crosses my lips. Today is weigh-in at Weight Watchers. I’m sure I can trust their scale for the truth. 207.4. That’s the number.

This is not a journey about food and exercise, even though that’s how it seems. This is a journey of transformation. Of taking yourself from a place you despise to a place that delights you. I have a pair of size 8 jeans hanging in my closet that I bought over 4 years ago. I gave up on them, but I must have had a tiny glimmer of hope that I’d be able to fit into them again…or I would’ve already given them away.

This is not a diet. I hate diets. Diets don’t last. Diets are about depriving yourself. This is something new, even though I’m not sure what it is.

By midday I have a headache, probably from the lack of caffeine. It doesn’t last long because I eat lunch.

This journey is definitely one day at a time. Looking further than one day at a time is overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

