Is Revenge Good?

Last week I was a vision of character and grace. Bear with me and I’ll tell you why.

I’m hooked on ABC’s newest evening soap opera “Revenge” in which Emily Thorne lives solo in the Hamptons in a mega-mansion and executes a master plot to avenge the death of her father 10 years earlier. While she is masterminding and scheming to rip the rug out from under the lives of those who took her Dads, she ever so sweetly attends Hampton galas with ladies who lunch.

I’ve never aspired to the ladies who lunch lifestyle so I can’t figure out what’s got me so intriqued. I’d love to have the Hamptons mansion she lives in but I don’t think that’s why I watch. I think it’s the thought of sweet revenge. Getting back at someone who took something from you with malice.

Last Friday morning I sat in the Hy-Vee grocery store cafe while my husband Dennis and I ate huge helpings of biscuits and gravy and hash browns. While washing it down with an enormous Diet Coke, I noticed a couple sitting 2 booths over. They looked familiar. I scanned my memory. I couldn’t place them.

And then it hit me. He was the creep who stole $200,000 from my husband and I in a real estate deal.

You’d think his image would be seared in my brain forever. His boney little wife with dyed black hair sat ever so sweetly eating her eggs while I was channeling Emily Thorne in my own way.

Should I say something? Embarrass them publicly. Throw my hash browns in his lap and walk off? Hurl 4-letter words. No. I would do none of those.

I simply sat with a smirk on my face. I knew they’d seen me. Now I was the one getting to make them uncomfortable, if even for a short 20 minutes. They knew who I was.

They darted off into the store, seeing if they could escape my glares. Somehow, I kept running into them. With glee I kept making them more uncomfortable.

I’m still $200,000 down. But just the fact that I could make them squirm was a teeny-weeny little bit of satisfaction. They knew they’d done us wrong. It showed in their demeanor. I was a vision of character and grace. (I didn’t dare tell my husband they were there, he’d have his own version of Revenge.)

Perhaps bad karma is the best revenge. We may not get to see how someone whose done us wrong is affected, but I can guarantee you, they are.

For now, I’ll just keeping watching Revenge. It makes me feel better.

Leave a Reply

