10 Great Careers for Work-At-Home Moms

I’m a blogger. The way my husband says it you’d think I was a blah-gher because he can’t fathom that people can earn a living and make a difference sitting behind a computer doing what I do.

But you can.

I’ve taken subjects near and dear to my heart and turned them into a place of refuge for women. I want Moms to be home with their babies. I want families to get out of debt. I want women to love their lives. I want home to be a sanctuary. I want everyone over 50 to cut up their Aarp cards and truly live.

Was this blog successful on day one. No. It was simply a functional websites. Nothing special. But as I poured my heart and my soul and my business savvy into it, it became something. It grew and morphed into something more beautiful than I could have ever imagined.

Along the way, EncouragementToGo helped people. It probably helped me most of all.

I’m a blogger. An author. A writer. A philosopher. An entrepreneur. A speaker. A motivator. An encourager. A cheerleader. An internet whiz.

My blog site made me nothing (zilch, zero), before it made me something. I had to have faith. Dennis had to have faith that it was going to become something. He had to believe in me despite the fact that I’ve business failures and boon times. I’ve made alot and I’ve made a little.

I had vision. I created something in my mind long before it became anything physical. When you’re ready, it’ll be time for you to create something special too.

10 Great Careers for Work-At-Home Moms

Great Career #1: Blogger
Do you like to write? Becoming a blogger can be a full-time job. And, you can’t put up a blog and expect people to come. That takes marketing. If you’re business savvy, there are unlimited ways to make money online with your blog.

Great Career #2: Seller
Buy and sell things on-line. Ebay. Craigs List. Etsy. Or create your own proprietary site and get known for one special thing.

Great Career #3: Virtual Assistant
Until a few short years ago, no one even knew what a virtual assistant was. Now, you can help an unlimited number of workers/CEO’s and entrepre eurs juggle the tasks they hate. This position is awesome if you’ve got great organizational and administrative skills.

Great Career #4: Direct Seller
Have you heard of Stelle & Dot? Mary Kay? Silpada? Tastefully Simple. All are direct marketing companies which use consultants to market their products. You’ll earn a commission, get some great leadership training and gain an extensive network of people when you utilize your sales skills.

Great Career #5: Information Marketer
This career is simply that, selling information. People love information. We can’t get enough. Make money providing it.

Great Career #6: Event Planner
Love weddings? Plan great parties? Turn it into the business of your dreams. How you charge depends on you. You can be commission-based (taking a percentage from the vendors you use, usually 10-15%) or fee based charging a project fee for your services.

Great Career #7: Real Estate Developer
You don’t have to be Donald Trump to be good at real estate. In fact, because women aren’t as power driven, I think we’re actually better at real estate than men. You’re not going to be a real estate agent (that’s a 24/7 job). You’re going to perhaps buy one or two properties a year and fix them up. Will this take some capital? Yes.

Great Career #8: Consultant
My first work-at-home position after I fired my boss was a marketing consultant. I took what I knew how to do (which was market things) and translated it into a business for insurance companies, computer companies and a variety of other industries. I owned this business for the almost 12 years before I tired of the client demands. What’s your expertise? Can you parlay it into a paying gig?

Great Career #9: Dog-Walker
I always say that people are crazy about their kids but they’re beszerk about their pets. They’ll pay virtually anything to know that Fido is well taken care of. You can even walk multiple dogs at the same time. I live in an apartment complex that’s filled with dogs. An email or door hanger around town, wallah! You’re in business.

Great Career #10: Extreme Couponer
This isn’t about what you’ll make…this is about what you’ll save. Working at home is about making more…it’s about how the money is distributed. Can you save your family enough money each month by couponing to pay the car payment? (PS. Your savings from getting rid of day care alone should be enough to buy you a good used car.)

These 10 great careers are just a tiny smidge of what’s available out there. If you can dream it, you can do it. Just remember, you have to make money. Passion isn’t enough.

Leave a Reply

