Should You Make Your Bed or Not?


I expect that this is going to be a controversial post, because it’s a controversial subject. I’ve never brought this one up in public or with friends before because I was too embarrassed to admit that I didn’t make my bed. Ever.

Oh, I made it if company was coming, or if my Mother-in-law was going to be over. But 99% of the time my bed used to go unmade. As a child, my parents never made my sister or I make our beds. (Funny, I used to admire my friends whose parents required it.)

So I never had a bed-making habit, nor did I ever require it for my own kids growing up. Rarely did I have to explain my untidy habits, and my husband is an easygoing guy.

At age 50, I moved to my 15th home of my adulthood. It was smaller, more compact, and virtually every room was viewable from everywhere else (you know, the 1,000 square feet or less scenario). And I decided it was time to start making my bed.

Every day. Whether I wanted to or not. And guess what, now I want to make my bed more than I don’t.

My neat and tidy bed actually makes me happy. It has soft, flowered sheets, a scrumptious comforter that I got at a garage sale for $4.00 and a chenille duvet that I drape across the end of the bed. It’s got 5 pillows, 2 for me and 2 for my hubby and 1 with a pink sham that we simply toss on the floor at night.

I spraypainted a silver headboard that I got for free at a garage sale. We used two tiny nails to mount it to the wall.

The entire comfy cozy bed cost me less than $20.00 I have a gorgeous wedding picture of my 2 daughters hanging on the wall to the side of the bed that I wake up to every morning. (The 2 daughters got married just 5 weeks apart in 2007 so we did an exquisite bridal portrait together of them.) The bedroom is one of my my serene places in the entire house.

The point is, I’ve taken a lifelong habit of untidiness and turned it into a habit of organization. It only takes me 2-3 minutes each morning to make the entire bed look amazing. But what I’ve learned is more than that, it makes my heart happy to have a ‘ready to get into any moment’ bed.

So, yes, you should make your bed! Oh, and if you don’t make your bed, that’s okay too. I didn’t do it for 50 years.

One thought on “Should You Make Your Bed or Not?

Leave a Reply

