How to Be Who You Really Are

Wouldn’t it be lovely if each of us were who we really are? If we didn’t have to pretend to like what others liked or when asked “Where do you want to go to dinner?” we actually answered with the truth instead of “I don’t care.”

Who are you, really? Who am I, really?

Am I really as happy as I look (yes) and am I really as nice as I seem to be (another yes). I haven’t worn a watch in a very, very long time (18 years to be exact since the day I fired my boss and went home to be with my kids) and I’m not on Facebook, and may not ever be. I don’t have a Twitter account and I rarely answer email.

How do I survive in the 21st century world, you ask. Just fine. You can get me by phone or you can comment on one of my 5 blogs. You can send me a card or letter to PO Box 1032, Lee’s Summit, MO 64063. You can visit me at my house (providing you’re a friend or family member) who I’ve invited.

I know I worry some people. They see me as eccentric or disconnected. I’m not. I simply don’t have time or attention for all the technological gadgetry that we’ve created, and prefer to use it to write or blog.

I love designing a beautiful home. I love creating new works of he(art). I love being with my husband Dennis (unless I’m mad at him like I am at this very moment) and I adore being with any of my 3 children and my grandson Max. Just the thought of being with any of them makes me feel like Christmas.

I love to travel and I love the hustle and bustle of a New York City street. It fills me with an energy and exhilaration I can’t describe. I love thrift store shopping and garage sales. I love a good Longhorn steak and a good pizza. I love encouraging people to follow their dreams and I love being on college campuses, whether I’m speaking or attending a football game.

The formula for being who you really are:

#1: Quit imitating everyone else

#2: Say what you want

#3: Eliminate all the extra junk from your life

#4: Find a dream and follow it

Being who you really are is the best gift you can give to the world. Because after all, there’s only one you.

This post was inspired by one of my favorite bloggers, Leo Babauta of ZenHabits.net, a self-professed minimalist and blogger/writer who would rather relax than answer email. Thanks Leo! Love your stuff.

Leave a Reply

