My Inability To Do One Thing

I’ve often been told I need to focus. Now for someone who’s very ADD (attention deficit disorder), this mantra makes me want to scream.

I can’t focus.

It’s not possible. It’s not who I am or who I’m wired to be.

I want to do 50 things at once. I’m a wife and a Mom and a Grandma and a friend and a Christian. I wear 25 different titles at least and feel comfortable with all of them.

I’m a writer and an entrepreneur. For instance, I write 5 blogs. Everyone I know wants me to write one. I believe I write all 5 blogs pretty well. I can post and update all 5 in less than 1-1.5 hours a day, and that’s with doing research for fact checking. I’m a thrift store shopper and an interior decorator. I’m a product designer and a speaker.

So which would you choose me to be?

I want it all. I want to sit at the banquet table of life and partake of the feast. At 50, I still believe that we all can have it. So I’ve decided my inability to do one thing is a great gift and I’m going to use it to love life! I’ve quit listening to all the ‘focus’ talk and spend my time listening to God and my own soul.

Leave a Reply

