How To Never Grow Old

The best way to grow old is to do nothing. The second best way to grow old is to do nothing new.

If you want to stay young, you must do these 3 simple things every single day.

#1: Learn
#2: Work
#3: Play

What makes me an authority? I don’t have an MBA or a PhD behind my name. I haven’t written a thesis on aging and you definitely can’t consider me a gegerontologist. The closest I’ve ever been to Ponce DeLeon’s Fountain of Youth was watching Johnny Depp in Pirates of the Caribbean. (Highly recommended by the way.) I do consider myself an expert on people.

Retirement has a way of making people old and purposeless. I watch retirees every single day and I’m amazed at how little they ask of life. You’ll never have more wisdom, my experience and more money than you do in the last 1/3 of your life.

Last week I was at the library (where I do my best blogging) sitting in the bank of 12 computers. An unusually well-coifed woman was sitting next to me with the library’s computer tech beside her. He asked her to enter her birthdate for her password.

She told him out loud it was 7/24/24. I did the math in my head. She was 87. She looked 65. Think it has something to do with her lifelong learning?

It’s never too late to grow young. I’m not advocating plastic surgery or bungi jumping. You don’t have to sky-dive like former President Bush did on his 85th birthday at Kennebunkport.

Maybe it’s as simple as picking up a book on a subject you’ve always wanted to know more about. Or holding the jumprope for you 8 year old granddaughter.

Learn. Work. Play. The lifelong formula for success.

Leave a Reply

