The Zen of Grandparenting

I’ve been a Mom for 25 years. I’ve been a Grandma for 16 months.

Parenting’s been a beautiful, frustrating, joyful experience and definitely one of the biggest parts of my life. I love being a Mom, but I wasn’t what you’d call a ‘natural mother’. Parenting was hard for me. I learned how to parent. I’d just gotten good at it when my youngest son Travis went off to college.

Grandparenting, on the other hand, has been bliss. My grandson Max was born just 16 months ago and I see a different woman in me than I was as a Mom. I’m zen with him. I watch his every move in amazement and could explore his tiny hands and feet for hours. I give him baths and giggle as he plays with the rubber duckies.

I throw bouncy balls with him inside the Old Navy Store. My daughter reminded me that I would’ve spanked her for the same thing. It’s true.

Life has a way of relaxing us. Life has a way of taking the unimportant things away and helping us to focus on the real.

Love is enormous and grows when you invest yourself in it. Investing takes time and energy. It can’t be done on holidays or by telephone. It has to be in person.

A few weeks ago I was looking at a property to purchase when I asked the woman why she was selling. She told me it was because she was at a family function and her 6-year old granddaughter barely knew her. She couldn’t stand the thought of her growing up without her.

Love requires your presence. Showing up matters most.

Leave a Reply

