The Worst Thing You Can Do When You’re In Debt

The worst thing you can do when you’re in debt is hide. Put your head in the sand.

I know how to do it because I was a pro at it. I stopped answering my phone because collectors were always calling. I developed a phone phobia. I stopped being with friends because I was boring them with my financial sufferings. I stopped getting the mail and only looked at it when I was forced to.

I had a whole bedroom dedicated to mail. I’d open up the door and throw it in. And that’s where my messy life began. Sorting it was too painful so I stopped that too.

Knowing who you owe is as powerful as paying the bill. You have to know who you owe and what you owe. Down to the penny. It was only when I started getting my act together (forced by our potential bankruptcy) did I start to feel in control again.

Leave a Reply

