Is Organization Really Necessary?

In one word, yes. Organization is mandatory. The type of organization however, can differ from what everyone else thinks is normal. I sort my files in laundry baskets. I’m a piler. I spent years, a couple of therapy sessions and hundreds of dollars for books on organizing to learn that this is the way I’m wired.

I’m not a neatnik. Nor do I want to be. However, when you’re running a home, a business, children’s lives, a marriage and several thousand square feet of stuff, you need some type of organizational system. I used to tell myself that organization was frivolous, something for people who had too much time on their hands.

It’s not. It’s for all of us, especially for those of us making the board presentation and making the macaroni and cheese.

What’s your organizational style?

Leave a Reply

