Guilty of Shiny Object Syndrome?

It wasn’t until I was in my early 40’s that I realized I had ADD (attention deficit disorder). I happen to believe it’s my gift, my ability to never be bored, to have more energy than a team of Alaskan malamutes in the Iditarod. It gives me my sparkle and my spirit. It’s the reason my 1st grade teacher was so exhausted.

It also gives me shiny object syndrome. What is shiny object syndrome? It’s incessantly rushing from thing to thing. It happens to me as I go from room to room in my own home. Moms are especially guilty of shiny object syndrome, we just call it multi-tasking. This is typically a woman’s syndrome. Men, as we know, focus on ONE thing. It annoys most of us women.

I wander to the shower to find a glass on the vanity. I take the glass to the kitchen and realize I’m hungry. I eat a piece of cheese and turn on the television. I sit down to watch Kirstie Alley’s 200+ pound body Dancing to the Stars. I return to the restroom only to realize I’ve left my moisturizer in the bedroom. You get it, don’t you?

What do you need to accomplish today? I bet it’s not a shiny object. Maybe it’s getting your taxes together or rocking your grandson to sleep. Perhaps it’s making that dreaded call to a client. Whatever it is, don’t put it off for the shiny object. Just because something sparkles, doesn’t mean it’s real.

Leave a Reply

