How to Work With Whining As Your Background Noise

One of the toughest parts of being a work from home Mom is that there is no separation between work and home. Work is work and home is home and they all blend homogeneously together. The kids never quit whining. The calls don’t stop coming. SO…

You have to decide how to separate the two. And you MUST separate the two at some point or you will go absolutely insane. One of my friends actually threw a high heel at her two year old who was about to put something in the electrical socket while she was negotiating a six-figure contract. The shoe missed the toddler but taught her an important lesson. Children can’t be left to wander while you work. That isn’t parenting either. If you know something or someone is going to need your undivided attention, schedule accordingly.

Dr. Laura used to write her books from 5:00 am to 7:00 am before her son arose. I worked around naps and pre-school time. Proposals were written at midnight and collated during breakfast. It wasn’t easy but I’ve never had a day of regret. My son didn’t even know I worked until he was in middle school. It never occurred to him. I was there when he woke up and I was there when he got back off the bus. To me that’s success!

Consider trading a few hours of child care every week with a friend. Work all day Saturday while your hubby watches the kids.

I never said it was going to be easy. I said it was going to be worth it.

Leave a Reply

